Turkish Airlines plane

Turkey bans flights from 9 European countries

The number of cases of coronavirus infection has risen to 5, all in quarantine and zero patient-related. Turkey bans flights from 9 countries in Europe until at least April 17th.

The number of coronavirus cases in Turkey rose from 2 to 5 this Friday, as confirmed by Turkish Health Minister Fahrettin Koca during a press conference, in which new containment measures were announced to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 virus, including the prohibition of all flights from 9 European countries.

All those infected to date with the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus (which produces the disease called COVID-19) are people who came into contact with the first case detected earlier this week – a Turkish citizen who had contracted the virus by traveling to Europe – and that were already isolated, explained Koca accompanied by the Minister of Justice Abdulhamit Gül and the Minister of Transport Cahit Turhan.

Koca also indicated that the government is working on a plan to launch a special hotline for coronavirus to help citizens identify from their symptoms whether they are infected or not with the virus.

For his part, Turhan announced new containment measures that include the suspension until April 17 of all flights from Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and Spain; this prohibition is in addition to the one that previously existed with flights from China, Iran, Iraq, Italy and South Korea.

Turkish President suspends all his trips abroad

At the same time, at least until March 23th classes are temporarily suspended in schools and institutes, while in universities the measure lasts for three weeks. The government plans to implement a national program to make Turkey “a model country” in distance education based on television and the Internet, and which will include 3GB of free mobile Internet data so that students can study online.

Other measures include suspending the league for two weeks or banning spectators from attending sporting events until the end of April. For his part, Turkish President Tayyip Erdoğan has also postponed all his trips abroad, while public officials will need a special permission to travel.

These measures are announced after the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (KKTC), closely linked politically and economically to Turkey, already announced on Thursday measures to stop the coronavirus that included the prohibition of entry to the country of citizens of France, Spain, Germany, Greece, the United States, Switzerland, Japan, Norway, the Netherlands, Denmark, the United Kingdom, Sweden, Hong Kong, Belgium, Singapore, Austria, Qatar and Bahrain.