Trabzonspor and Alanyaspor in Turkish Cup final

Surprise in Turkish football league: no relegation this year

Turkish Football Federation announced by surprise that this year no team will be relegated in the top three divisions. Meanwhile, Trabzonspor won the Turkish Cup.

Teams in Turkey’s top three football leagues -the Süper Lig (first division), the TFF 1. Lig and the 2. Lig (second division and second division B, respectively)- will not be relegated this year, Turkish Football Federation (TFF) announced this week by surprise, after only a few days ago Malatyaspor and Kayserispor mathematically dropped to the second division in the Turkish league.

The TFF finally decided to accept an old proposal presented by the Turkish Football Clubs Union, which for the second time in a few months had asked on Monday that there be no relegation this season and that the 2020-2021 season should be played with 21 teams. The previous petition had been filed at the height of the coronavirus pandemic, but had been rejected by the Federation.

This decision means that neither Kayserispor nor Malatyaspor, nor Ankaragücü -the last three classified in the Süper Lig– will drop this year to the second division of Turkish football (TFF 1. Lig). Also Osmanlıspor, Adanaspor and Eskişehirspor are spared from going down to the second division B (TFF 2. Lig).

As explained by the TFF, the next season of the Super League will have 21 teams competing instead of the usual 18, while in 2021 four teams will be relegated in category instead of the usual three.

Trabzonspor wins Turkish Cup

On the other hand, the Trabzonspor, vice champion of the Super League, beat Alanyaspor on Wednesday and took the Ziraat Cup in Turkey in the match played at the Atatürk Olympic Stadium in Istanbul.

Named best player of the match, Abdülkadir Ömür put the Black Sea team ahead 25 minutes into the game thanks to a pass from Norwegian striker Alexander Sorloth, who would score the second goal already in injury time during a counterattack. Papiss Cisse had previously tied the game for Alanyaspor, but the goal was eventually annulled for offside. Trabzonspor goalkeeper Uğurcan Çakır and Argentina’s midfielder José Sosa raised the cup in the subsequent ceremony.

This is the 9th Cup of Turkey that the Black Sea Storm achieves; it had previously obtained the title in 1977, 1978, 1984, 1992, 1995, 2003, 2004 and 2010; for Alanyaspor however, it was the first time that the Antalya team reached the final. Galatasaray remains the Turkish team that has raised the Turkish cup the most times, with a total of 18 titles throughout its history.