monkeypox virus

First case of monkeypox detected in Turkey

More than 50 countries, including UK and US, have confirmed cases of monkeypox virus infection, mainly in Western Europe.

Turkey has confirmed the first case of monkeypox detected in the country, as announced in recent hours by the country’s Minister of Health, Fahrettin Koca, while the virus seems to have already spread to more than fifty countries and would already have community transmission, experts warn.

According to the data provided by Koca, the first detected case of monkeypox would correspond to a 37-year-old patient, immunocompromised, and who is currently isolated and under observation after the infection has been confirmed. “Contact tracing works have been carried out, and no more cases have been found,” said the minister, who once again recalled that the disease is transmitted by “close physical contact.”

The WHO called precisely on Wednesday for tighter surveillance of the virus so that monkeypox does not spread to vulnerable groups such as children, pregnant women or immunosuppressed people, and warned that the fight against this virus will require “intense” efforts and of coordination between countries, which should share information on the efficacy of currently known vaccines against the virus.

Monkeypox is a zoonotic disease endemic to Africa that produces symptoms such as fever, headache, chills, muscle aches, rashes, and pus-like blister-like lesions on face, hands, feet, and genitals, that eventually transform into scabs that fall off and disappear after three weeks. The disease, transmitted by a virus present in primates and rodents, is transmitted by contact and also by inhalation of suspended droplets.

Although the first case has now been detected in Turkey, as of June 22 monkeypox had spread to fifty countries, mainly in Western Europe, with a total of 3,413 confirmed cases; the most affected countries are the United Kingdom (793 laboratory-confirmed cases), Germany (521), Spain (520), Portugal (317), France (277), Canada (210), the Netherlands (167) and the United States (142).