Galatasaray, victory in the derby

Dramatic end for Turkish Super League

Beşiktaş still leads, but derby loss to Galatasaray gives this team a chance and puts Fenerbahçe just 2 points behind, with 2 weeks left.

The defeat of Beşiktaş, the team aspiring to the league title, against Galatasaray in the derby played this weekend in Istanbul prepares a dramatic end for the Turkish Super League, with Beşiktaş, Galatasaray and Fenerbahçe separated by no more than 2 points with just two weeks to the end of the season.

The derby between Galatasaray and Beşiktaş on Saturday resulted in a resounding 3-1 victory for the Lions; Ryan Babel scored the first goal in the 10th minute, while the Eagles’ only goal would come in the 41st with Rachid Ghezzal after a penalty signalled by the VAR. The joy did not last long for the current leader of the league, because only 4 minutes later Falcao, with another penalty, established the 2-1 just before the break.

Already in the second half, in the 76th minute Arda Turan would be in charge of establishing the final 3-1 finishing off a stolen ball in the area: a victory – the fourth in a row for Galatasaray – that ends the streak of 7 games without losing of Beşiktaş and that gives the Lions 3 golden points, putting them back in the race for the title.

With the victory also obtained by Fenerbahçe in the match played at the weekend against Ankaragücü, Beşiktaş retains the lead with 81 points but their comfortable advantage against their immediate pursuer, Fenerbahçe, is reduced from 5 to only 2 points, while Galatasaray, before 6 points from the lead, see the distances reduced by half with only two weeks left for a final of the Turkish Super League that is expected to be really dramatic.

Results of the 40th week of the Super League

Büyükşehir Belediye Erzurumspor 0 – 1 Kasımpaşa

MKE Ankaragücü 1 – 2 Fenerbahçe

Demir Grup Sivasspor 0 – 0 Medipol Başakşehir

Hes Kablo Kayserispor 0 – 0 Gaziantep FK

Çaykur Rizespor 0 – 4 Helenex Yeni Malatyaspor

Atakaş Hatayspor 1 – 0 Yukatel Denizlispor

Galatasaray 3 – 1 Beşiktaş

Fatih Karagümrük 5 – 1 Gençlerbirliği

Göztepe 0 – 1 İttifak Holding Konyaspor

Trabzonspor 2 – 1 Fraport TAV Antalyaspor