Istanbul tourism: tourists in Sultanahmet

British tourists can now travel to Turkey without a visa

Turkey’s foreign ministry has announced that as of March 2, 6 European countries, including UK, are exempt from visas for tourist travels.

The Turkish Foreign Ministry announced on Thursday that Ankara will exempt the need to apply for a visa to the United Kingdom and 5 countries of the Schengen area, including Spain, which will allow British tourists to travel to the Eurasian country without having to ask and pay for a visa like so far.

As Turkish government spokesman Hami Aksoy announced in a statement, citizens of the United Kingdom besides Austria, Belgium, Holland, Poland and Spain will be able to travel to Turkey for tourist reasons as of March 2 without being required to apply for a visa . This visa exemption will be valid for a maximum of 90 days in total, for a period of 180 days from the date of entry into the country.

Aksoy explained that this decision aims to foster cultural, tourist and commercial ties with these European countries: “The objective of this measure is to promote the tourism potential of the aforementioned countries (for tourism in Turkey), as well as develop commercial, economic relations and cultural, “he said.

Currently, a total of 78 countries enjoy visa exemption to visit Turkey for tourism purposes, including several Europeans nations such as Germany, France, Sweden, Italy, Ireland, Switzerland or Finland, to which the 6 countries of Europe mentioned are added now. They will be exempt of visa as of March 2.

Turkey is in fact a popular tourist destination for many European countries, mostly British tourists: last year more than 2.5 million tourists from the United Kingdom traveled to the country. In total, in 2019 Turkey received about 52 million tourists from abroad, beating a historical record and becoming the 6th largest tourist destination in the world.