presidential elections in Turkey

4 candidates will compete in the Turkish presidential elections

Finally, there will be 4 candidates who will compete in the presidential elections that Turkey will hold on May 14, as announced by the country’s Supreme Electoral Board (YSK) after the deadline for presenting the 100,000 signatures needed to be a candidate expired yesterday. Apart from the current Turkish President Tayyip Erdoğan and the candidate of the 6-party opposition coalition, Kemal Kılıçdaroğlu, only two candidates have managed to gather the necessary signatures: Muharrem İnce, who was the candidate for Kılıçdaroğlu’s CHP in the 2018 presidential elections, and who is now presenting himself with his new Homeland Party after having gathered 114,000 signatures, and Sinan Oğan, candidate of the far-right Victory Party (Zafer Partisi) who managed to gather 111,000 signatures.

Other potential candidates such as Doğu Perinçek of the far-left Patriotic Party (Vatan Partisi) or Fatih Erbakan – son of former Prime Minister Necmettin Erbakan – of the Islamist New Welfare Party (Yeniden Refah Partisi), failed to gather the necessary signatures; however, Erbakan announced the withdrawal of his candidacy after his party joined the electoral coalition led by Erdoğan’s AKP party.